What’s in your shopping basket?

I have a voyeuristic tendency to snoop in the baskets of people in line at the grocery store checkout. Sometimes it’s a little horrifying. I mean, 4 cases of soda? I think my pancreas just produced a little sympathy insulin! Sometimes it incites curiosity; what does one do with all of that eggplant, or more specifically, what does that person do with that much eggplant? Enquiring minds want to know. Occasionally there is a melancholy-inducing  assortment of fifteen frozen dinners and a big bottle of cheap wine. And I have to admit, when I see a man with flowers in his hands, I take a peek to see if the contents of his basket reveal whether wooing or groveling is what’s for dinner.

So in the interest of giving back and not hogging all of the grocery store nosing around, I’m going to show y’all the contents of my shopping bags from the Berkeley Bowl today.

the whole lot

Yes, indeed, there it is. Go ahead and have a look. From the bulk section, I have fine sea salt, baking soda (which I also use for cleaning), turbinado sugar, black rice, and pitted prunes (don’t let their reputation fool you – yum).  Lots of apples, Pink Ladies and Fujis, some Minneola tangelos, garlic, rhubarb and strawberries, and Delta asparagus from the produce section, then some Fig Newmans and a chicken (to roast with some tarragon from the garden) and two gorgeous, amazing, fabulously huge artichokes round out the pile. Oh, and a bottle of olive oil. Almost forgot that.

So there you have it folks. A snapshot of my weekly shop. I’ll be in Trader Joe’s for bread and yogurt and the farmer’s market and maybe Ranch 99 at some point for a few bits and pieces, and we still have some greens and herbs in the garden and pantry staples to pull from. But that’s the bulk of it. So if you see me in the grocery store and you don’t want me peeking in your basket, run. Otherwise, I’ll show you mine if you show me yours.

2 thoughts on “What’s in your shopping basket?

  1. This reminds me of our Dekalb Farmer’s Market and Rainbow Grocery shopping days. Only the quantities were
    SO MUCH MORE for 8 of us! I am proud of you.

Leave a Reply

